To the three seasoned moms sitting in front of me

three womenTo the three seasoned moms sitting in front of me at a women’s retreat, 

Thank you.

Thank you for what? You may ask.

Thank you for holding, playing, and taking care of the baby girl whose young mom was sitting right next to me. This mom may not have asked for a break, she most likely didn’t even expect one, but the three of you cared enough to give her a break and probably a much needed opportunity for her to worship her creator and soak up the Word of God in peace while knowing her baby girl was cared for in good hands.

Thank you for not turning your eyes away from the young mom just entering into motherhood. Thank you for not thinking to yourself ” Been there done that..never want to be in THAT stage again..”, but instead offered not only your help, but also your love and attention towards her little one. Thank you for being willing to be a part of another mom’s new born baby journey, even though your own children have long past those stages and some already are off to college. Thank you for giving me a glimpse of Titus 2:3 ( “Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children.”)  Thank you for reminding me that it takes a village to raise a child, and that is why it is so important to surround myself with God fearing older women like yourselves. Thank you for being examples of what humble Christ like love and service look like.

Ultimately, thank you for modeling to me, the kind of older woman I would hope to become one day.

To the three seasoned moms sitting in front of me,

I hope I sit behind you again when I become that young mom with the newborn baby at our church’s women’s retreat.

I know I will be nervous when that day comes, but I am confident that my baby and I would be in good hands with the three of you around.

Much love and appreciation,

Carrie

Leave a Reply

